Veterans Honor, Hybrid Tea

“All of us blossom when we feel loved and wither when we do not feel loved.”
― Gary Chapman, The Five Love Languages for Singles

Roses have a Love Language expressed by their color. This Valentine’s Day let your roses do the talking, Second That Emotion with a rose. Do you know what the color of a rose says when you give it? In the Book The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts by Gary Chapman, Chapman explains that each of us has a love language. And its really important to understand how each of us interpret expressions of love toward each other.

Words of Affirmation

Mark Twain once said “I can live for two months on a good compliment.” Appreciation is one of the most important things to someone whose love language is  based on “Words of Affirmation.” Simple compliments like, “You you look so pretty,” or “You mean so much to me! I can’t wait to see you,” are all someone needs to hear to feel loved. “Words of Affirmation” can also include just offering words of encouragement that lead to confidence building in a loved one. So if  your Valentines love language is “Words of Affirmations,” you might give them red roses and whisper “I love you and I desire you.” Your love languages are singing from the same hymnal with red roses and words of affirmation.

Veterans Honor, Hybrid Tea
Veterans Honor, Hybrid Tea

A red rose is an expression of love. Red roses convey deep emotions – love, longing and desire. Red Roses can also indicate respect, admiration and devotion. The number of red roses has romantic significance. 12 red roses is the most popular and means “Be mine” and “I love you”

Quality Time

Quality time is about spending time and involves doing things together. Many people feel loved when they can share experiences, thoughts feelings and desires. Communication and deep personal sharing draws a couple closer on many levels. Being sure to set time aside to spend quality one-on-one time together will ensure a happy marriage. Now this love language is very easy for me it has OUI Theory written all over. I live it every day. If you haven’t read that post its time you did because it works. If your love’s love language is about spending quality time together then orange roses may be a winner signifying the time spent together  can lead from a warm glow to a fiery passion. Here’s my perfect example for Big Daddy, “Darling, I would love a new Rio Samba, About Face, and Coretta Scott King and OUI can plant them together, Monday when I am at work,” see how that works?

Fragrant Cloud, Gaga's Garden
Fragrant Cloud, Gaga’s Garden

Orange Roses: reminds us of the sun, a fiery blaze, signifying passion and energy. Orange roses can be used to express intense desire, pride and fervor. They also convey a sense of fascination, rivaling only the red roses as messengers of passion in romance.

Receiving Gifts

Gift are often meant to be a symbol of our love. If  this is your love language, you are more likely to treasure any gift as an expression of love and devotion. People who speak this love language often feel that a lack of receiving gifts represents a lack of love from their mate. This love language is easy to learn. Be sure to understand your partners attitude about money before you make an assumption she or he wants to receieve gifts. Making an assumption your loved one wants to receive gifts to feel loved when really they are worried about finances can lead to serious financial misunderstandings. That’s what learning each other’s love language is all about. A person who feels receiving gifts is a sign of feeling loved sees it as a sign that you are investing the money not in gifts but in deepening the relationship so the gift does not necessarily have to cost a lot of money. It is often the thought that counts. The perfect Valentine’s plan may be a heart necklace and a bouquet of pink roses indicating admiration, joy in your relationship and deep gratitude for all that she does for you.

Raindrops on Roses
Raindrops on Roses

Pink Roses: Pink roses range in color from baby’s breath pink to smoldering fuchsia. They cover a range of emotions from admiration, joy and gratitude and can also be indicative of sweetness and innocence. Deep pink rose blooms convey deep gratitude and appreciation. Pink roses can convey elegance and grace.

Acts of Service

I’m sure you have heard the expression “actions speak louder than words.” The person who feels loved by Acts of Service lives by this rule. Simple chores around the house can be an undeniable expression of love. Even simple things like laundry and taking out the trash require some form of planning, time, effort, and energy. It’s important to find out what little thing you can do for each other that would really show that you care enough to get involved in the day to day mundane chores and help out with it. This shows you care enough to do it and goes a long way when your loved one values Acts of Service in their love language. A wonderful Valentine’s Day could be waxing the car and a bouquet of lavender roses for her or for him taking all those shirts from the laundry basket to the dry cleaners and getting them done and back before he knows it.

Night Owl Spray in the fall rose garden
Night Owl Spray in the fall rose garden

Lavender Roses: A Lavender rose like its color conveys enchantment. It also expresses “love at first sight.” Darker shades of lavender roses (close to purple) convey a sense of regal majesty, splendor, fascination and adoration.

Physical Touch

Many people feel the most loved when they receive physical contact from their partner. For anyone who speaks this love language they want to feel human touch. Its important to remember that this love language is different for everyone. That way you can make the most of your hugging, kissing, cuddling and other physical contacts. For passion red roses simply are the rose of choice. They are the ultimate symbol.

Lavaglut Florabunda
Lavaglut Florabunda

A red rose is an expression of love. Red roses convey deep emotions – love, longing and desire. Red Roses can also indicate respect, admiration and devotion. The number of red roses has romantic significance. 12 red roses is the most popular and means “Be mine” and “I love you”



Here are wonderful ideas for our friends

Golden Showers, Gaga's Garden
Golden Showers, Gaga’s Garden

Yellow Roses: Yellow roses are an expression of exuberance. Yellow roses evoke sunny feelings of joy, warmth and welcome. They are symbols of friendship and caring. The yellow rose, like the other roses, does not carry an undertone of romance. It indicates purely platonic emotions.






Iceberg after the Rain with Bees Visiting
Iceberg after the Rain with Bees Visiting

White Roses: White is the color of purity, chastity and innocence. White flowers mean new beginnings, ideal for first-time bride walking down the aisle. White flowers can convey sympathy or humility, and indicative of spirituality.



The East Rose Garden
The East Rose Garden





Mixed Bouquet Roses: mixing different colors of blooms can send a purposefully mixed message. For example sending red and white could mean I love you intensely, while my intensions are honorable.

6 thoughts on “The Love Language of Roses”

  1. What’s up, all the time i used to check web site posts here in the early hours in the daylight,
    for the reason that i like to gain knowledge of more and

    1. Hi Dorine,
      I attended the Independent Garden Center Show in Chicago and wanted to share all the products and people that were there. I will get back to sharing stories and gardening information you can be sure. Thank-you for telling me what you like.
      Please keep telling me what is important to you. What do you want to hear about?
      Susan Fox
      aka Gaga

Comments are closed.